Award Winning Books
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   Ñ   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   #   
Search Options    

Occassional Prose

Adrian Cristobal

Winner, National Book Award, Essay, 1984

This book contains essays, stories, and a three-act play. E. Aguilar Cruz, in the introduction, writes: “At last, the book that friends of Adrian Cristobal have been waiting for. Until now, they had difficulty explaining why he is an important writer. This time all they need to convince the skeptics is to tell them to get this book—and read.”

Manila: Vessel Books, 1984

ISBN: 971-101-700-8
271 pages

Occupation \'42

Benito J. Legarda Jr.

Winner, National Book Award, History, 2003

Occupation ’42 narrates in its main section the impact of the Pacific phase of World War II on Filipino civilian life. It starts with students preparing for the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on December 8, 1941, the day war came to the country, and ends on the last day of 1942 with Filipino officials bowing in subjection towards the imperial palace in Tokyo. A short second section of the work covers events associated with the later campaign for liberation—the kamikaze, the Cabanatuan raid, and the ordeal of Manila civilians in February 1945.

Manila: De La Salle University Press, 2003

ISBN: 971-555-488-1
205 pages

Ochre Tones: Poems in English and Cebuano

Marjorie M. Evasco

Winner, National Book Award, Poetry, 1999

“Marjorie Evasco’s poems speak to us of a truth deeper than words, of special insights into life that only the bravest of poetry will allow. Like the Balinese dancers of whom she writes so beautifully, she has taken the ‘10 sacred years to learn one gesture.’ These stunning poems are the result of that almost mystical discipline”—Eric Gamalinda

Marikina City: Salimbayan Books, 1999

ISBN: 971-919-961-X
118 pages

Oldtimer and Other Stories

Jose Y. Dalisay Jr.

Winner, National Book Award, Fiction, 1984

The book was also published by University of the Philippines Press, 2002.

Oldtimer and Other Stories, the author’s first book, contains 10 stories described by Dalisay as “the stories of my first 30 years, of my first lifetime.” The stories vary in their styles and concerns, from the friendship of two men in New York just after the war to the plight of an Army doctor ministering to a teenage insurgent and the heady charm of a kept woman living next door.

Quezon City: Asphodel Books, 1984

ISBN: 971-542-361-1
129 pages

On Cursed Ground and Other Stories

Vicente Garcia Groyon

Co-Winner, National Book Award, Short Fiction, 2004

In his first collection of short stories, award-winning Vicente Garcia Groyon brings together characters discovering sinister truths lurking beneath the surfaces of the worlds they inhabit. Written between 1989 and 2004, these stories trace the boundaries between grace and sin, baring our human capacity for both.

Quezon City: University of the Phillipines Press, 2004

ISBN: 971-542-438-4
144 pages

On the Subject of the Nation: Filipino Writings from the Margins, 1981 to 2004

Caroline S. Hau

Winner, National Book Award, Literary Criticism, 2004

On the Subject of the Nation illuminates the ongoing transformation and redefinition of the Philippine nation-state while highlighting the ways in which the individual and collective experiences, struggles, dreams, and aspirations of Filipinos serve to rethink and reinvent notions of belonging, sacrifice, learning, labor, and love that underpin the theory and practice of nation-making.

Quezon City: Ateneo de Manila University Press, 2004

ISBN: 971-550-471-X
334 pages

Once a Upon a Time

Fran Ng

Winner, National Book Award, Children’s Literature, 2001

Ten fairy tales by Hans Christian Andersen, retold by award-winning writer Fran Ng and illustrated by award-winning painter Arnel Mirasol, who works as a textbook illustrator and a political cartoonist. Contains: “Thumbelina,” “The Wild Swans,” “The Little Mermaid,” “The Old Man and His Wife,” “The Princess and the Pea,” “The Nightingale,” “The Traveling Companion,” “The Emperor’s New Clothes,” “The Little Match Girl,” and “The Ugly Duckling.”

Makati City: Tahanan Books for Young Readers, 2001

ISBN: 971-630-136


Romulo Baquiran Jr.

Winner, National Book Award, Poetry, 2003

Sinisipat ng Onyx ang mga pagmamasid, penomenon, at emosyong ipinapahayag ng samutsaring kaakuhan na nagsisikap ibunyag ang tanging kalikasan ng mga ito sa lente ng metapora at imahinasyon. Ang pagtunghay sa mga kaakuhang ito ay pagtuklas sa mga hulagway na nakatupi sa bawat tula. Ang salimbayan ng mga persona ay pamamaraan ng pagtatanghal sa iba’t ibang tapyas ng binubuong lawas sa koleksiyon. Ikalawang aklat ito ng makata mula sa kanyang Mga Tula ng Paglusong na inilimbag ng Anvil Publishing noong 1992.

Quezon City: University of the Phillipines Press, 2003

ISBN: 971-542-393-0
79 pages

Origins and Rise of the Filipino Novel: A Generic Study of the Novel until 1940

Resil B. Mojares

Winner, National Book Award, Literary Criticism, 1983

This generic study of the Filipino novel situates its development in the context of the narrative tradition and social history of the Philippines. It marks out lines of descent, identifies shifts in modes of narrative representation, considers literary changes in relation to the larger society, and thus offers the reader with a view of the novel not only in itself but also in history.

Quezon City: University of the Phillipines Press, 1983

ISBN: 971-542-160-1
398 pages

Our Scene So Fair: Filipino Poetry in English, 1905 to 1955,

Gemino H. Abad

Winner, National Book Award, Literary Criticism / Literary History, 2009


Quezon City: University of the Phillipines Press, 2008

ISBN: 978-971-542-559-9
233 pages

Oyayi: Sarswela ng Pamilyang Pinoy

Frank G. Rivera

Edited by Arthur P. Casanova, Felix P. Tapangot, Louela B. Floresca

Winner, National Book Award, Drama, 2004

The musical play Oyayi written by Frank Rivera and produced by Pixel Art Media Production Co. won the Aliw Award for Best Musical Play Production in 2005.

Manila: University of Santo Tomas Publishing House, 2004

ISBN: 971-506-264-4
235 pages